[LISTEN] New Songs For Thursday – Releases from The Summer Set, Counterfeit & More!

Oh boy, today’s been a busy one in the universe of song releases! I took some time out from my yearlong listening party of The Maine’s American Candy – happy 1st birthday to that awesome album – and thought I’d dip my ears into something new. Here are my favourites from this rather stirring yet pleasant Thursday afternoon.


The British rock duo casually dropped a brand new song on us without any warning. “Where Are You Now?” is set to have its small screen debut this weekend on the new episode of HBO’s own rock and roll series Vinyl . It’s totally fitting for the show’s atmosphere and era it’s played in.


What could be better than The Summer Set releasing a new album, Stories For Monday, tomorrow? Another teaser from what’s to come the day before. I’ve got really good feelings about this record and “Wasted” just made the assumptions stronger. Turn those lights off because the party is just about to start. You have the right to remain rock & roll.


Hello…it’s me is this thing on? – asks Jamie Campbell Bower in his band Counterfeit’s brand new song “Enough.” As one inspired by current and relevant events of terror attacks across the world, the track works as a sort of anthem to rage against the machine that is violence and murder but with love – a message we at TDL can totally get behind. It’s also marching and heavy AF. Watch HERE.



Cobra Starship may have come to an end (feel free to come back any time, though) but keytarist Victoria Asher just unveiled her first ever song and music video to the world under the VICKY-T moniker. “Protect This Love” is a playful synth-pop track guaranteed to stick with the listener. The video was directed/produced/edited by Victoria herself. She’s one busy lady…and apparently isn’t into bunnies much…Yikes!


Black Veil Brides frontman, Andy Biersack, is set to release his first solo effort The Shadow Side as Andy BLACK this May (worry not, BVB album 5 is also in the works). The empowering “Stay Alive” is the newest track to see the light, featuring Matt Skiba from Alkaline Trio + blink-182 on vocals and Ashton Irwin from 5SOS on drums. What a guest line-up, and what a tune! Love the message in this one. Listen HERE.

Dóra Udvardi

Dóra Udvardi

Writer. Photographer. Admirer of Arts.