The Best EP Releases of 2017

Aside from full-lengths, EPs are currency in the music industry, especially if you’re an up-and-comer with big plans to take over the music world in some way. EPs are a way for artists to introduce themselves without overwhelming; to give listeners a taste of what’s to come. With attention spans (unfortunately) running low these days, EPs are becoming more popular and more convenient for artists to produce.

The best part about an EP is that it often means that there is more music on the way! These artists all proved themselves in 2017 (some even before that) and are ready to move on to a full-length in 2018! It was hard to choose just 10, but we think we nailed the best of the best this year.

Related: The Best Album Releases Of 2017

10. By An Ion – Violet Sky

Released: November 23, 2017

If you’re looking for something to stargaze to, look no further than By An Ion’s debut EP, Violet Sky. The electronic duo have been scraping away at releasing their first body of work for quite some time now, and the finished product exceeded our expectations. Goosebumps for days!

Key Tracks: “Autre Vie” | “Fenestra” | “Violet Sky”





9. Brain Tan – Comfort Object

Released: September 8, 2017

Brain Tan has a special way with music and emotions that we can’t quite put our finger on; all we know is that it’s pure magic and it works. Comfort Object displays everything we’ve ever loved from the moniker of Rob Arbelo and then some with 80’s sensibilities flowing through your veins for days!

Key Tracks: “Pamela” | “Comfort Object” | “Your Magazines”






8. Missing Words – Memories

Released: January 10, 2017

Debut EPs are more than just introductions, they’re statements that later become staples in a listener’s journey. In the case of Missing Words’ Memories, we’re immersed in an electro-pop paradise with every listen as inspiring tales of miscommunication and starting over new take over our beings. Little do they know that all the words are exactly in place and right where we need them.

With “Howl At The Moon” at the forefront of a tumultuous year, it’s no surprise it made our 2017 a lot more bearable. From the epic burnouts to the perpetual depression plaguing all if not most of the world at one point or another, this is an anthem we’ll be playing whenever the going gets tough again…because we all know it always does.

Key Tracks: “Howl At The Moon” (feat. The New Division) | “Memories” | “4AM”


7. Lostboycrow – Traveler: The Second Legend

Released: October 6, 2017

Lostboycrow dazzled us with two installments of his debut album in EPs this year and a third is on its way! Traveler: The Second Legend dives into a deeper, edgier sound for the singer as each track explores a bigger meaning than the last as the tapestry to the entire LBC story weaves together.

Key Tracks: “Spin The Globe” | “All My Lives At Once” | “Missing London”





6. Lostboycrow – Traveler: The First Legend

Released: May 26, 2017

Traveler: The First Legend will always have a special place in our hearts as it was the beginning of a very important journey for the singer. Every track on this one has hit potential, but more importantly, they all have the ability to hit the listener right where it matters: in the feels!

Key Tracks: “Devil’s In The Backseat” | “Traveler” | “Real Name”





5. Aly & AJ – Ten Years

Released: November 17, 2017

Appropriately titled, Ten Years marks the return of sister duo Aly & AJ with a brand new, re-imagined synthpop sound that we are obsessing over! With an album on the way in 2018, we’re excited to see where this new chapter takes the former Disney darlings.

Key Tracks: “Take Me” | “I Know” | “Promises”





4. Transviolet – Kaleidoscopes

Released: June 30, 2017

Transviolet are so underrated that it literally hurts. Possessing everything the music world needs at the moment, Transviolet are the real deal as they refuse to play the game yet still win anyway. Second EP, Kaleidoscopes showcases the band’s diversity, blending everything from pop, alternative and indie into one glorious…well…kaleidoscope.

Key Tracks: “Pretty Head” | “The Hamptons” | “Don’t Put It On Me”




3. Echosmith – Inside A Dream

Released: September 29, 2017

What was supposed to be their second full-length, Inside A Dream gives Echosmith fans a glimpse into what’s to come once the sibling trio releases that second album in the spring of 2018! The sky isn’t even the limit for them as they tend to prove time and again where talent, class and morals will take you. How refreshing!

Key Tracks: “Goodbye” | “Get Into My Car” | “Hungry”





2. La Bouquet – Heavy Sunshine

Released: November 10, 2017

Once we stumbled upon La Bouquet’s “Loser Baby” this past spring, we were smitten. Heavy Sunshine is only the beginning for the “sad dad” Los Angeles duo who are gearing up for the release of their debut album in 2018. If it’s anything close to the vibes of this collection, fans should be very happy.

Key Tracks: “Kiss Me, Kill Me” | “Loser Baby” | “Loveless”





1. The New Division – Precision

Released: January 14, 2017

Starting off our 2017 with another anticipated release from The New Division wasn’t a bad way to begin a new chapter. The band is set to continue that notion with the release of Fader in January. We could sit here and rave about TND for days, but what it all comes down to is quality and chill factor – which they’ve always mastered impeccably from day one.

Key Tracks: “Vices” | “Vicious” | “Rewind” (feat. Missing Words)






The Daily Listening

The Daily Listening

Musings from The Daily Listening team, exclusive premieres, guest blogs & more!